Hello! Announcing the publication of a new book!

Hello, this is the first time I’ve ever Blogged!  However, I’m happy to do so as Nicole has encouraged me to participate and I trust her judgment and direction.  I also am delighted to announce the publication, and reviews for my book, A Boy Named Beckoning:  The True Story of Dr. Carlos Montezuma (Lerner/Carolrhoda).

 

I’m thrilled that the book has earned starred reviews from School Library Journal and Booklist…and, a Book of the Month from Rutgers University.  Also, I’ve had the pleasure be interviewed on Bookbites web cast.  You can hear it at www.blogtalkradio.com/bookbitesforkids

 

This project has been an inspiring 12 years in the making.  The research has been exhilarating and daunting at the same time.  I firmly believe that while A Boy Named Beckoning is a Native American story it also reaches out to everyone who needs and wants a hero.  For me, there have never been enough words to describe how profound of an influence Carlos Montezuma has had on my own life. 

 

I was also challenged by the art while illustrating the story.  My usual medium is watercolor but this book called out for acrylic.  I experimented with different types of papers for each spread.  Contact papers with wood patterns, rice paper, and even an archival newspaper of the Chicago Tribune dated in the late 1800’s.  What fun I had!  To be honest, I look forward to doing this type of work again.  Sure, there are a few things that I would do differently but overall I’m very pleased and proud of the book.

 

We’ve built a temporary website for this book.  You can see it at www.beckoning-carlosmontezuma.com.  Also, Dani is graciously uploading a number of images for the book on the Tuguea2 website.  Thanks for your hard work Dani! Go Tugeau2 team-you’re the best!

 

Thanks for reading my first blog. 

Best to all,

Gina Capaldi

3 Responses to Hello! Announcing the publication of a new book!

  1. wellerwishes says:

    WOW Gina — You should be so proud! This is incredible news!

    BIG Congratulations!!!!

  2. nataliavasquez says:

    BRAVO GINA!!!this is an incredible good news! 🙂
    from Peru a big congrat!!

  3. Pingback: A Boy Named Beckoning « Practically Paradise

Leave a Reply

